teaching

photo credit: Studio Scrivo

photo credit: Studio Scrivo

i teach sewing, patternmaking, crochet, embroidery, block printing, and more! mostly i teach at various locations in the Hudson Valley/Catskills area of New York (about 2 hours north of NYC), which is where i live. you can find all of my classes below. please contact the venue for registration and payment. all classes require a minimum of 4 (or more) students, so please register early to avoid cancellation.

i also travel to teach at retreats and shops around the US, so i may be coming to a venue near you! this page gets updated frequently, so please check back often. i hope to see you in class!

if you can’t find me in person, i also teach online classes with Creativebug. you can see what i offer, and watch a video about me, on my teacher page. these also make great reference material if you’ve taken a class with me and need to review!

2018 TEACHING SCHEDULE

JanuaryBefriend Your Sewing Machine @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Saturday, January 20 from 1-4pm

February

Classic Embroidery Stitches @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Friday, February 16 from 1-4pm

Clone It: Make a Pattern from your Favorite Clothes @ Drop Forge & Tool in Hudson, NY
Saturday, February 24 from 11am-4:30pm

Art at the Bar: Embroidery @ Reynolds & Reynolds Taproom in Woodstock, NY
Sunday, February 25 from 3-4:30pm

March

Make Your Own Dress Immersion Weekend @ Drop Forge & Tool in Hudson, NY
Saturday + Sunday, March 10-11 from 10:30am-5pm (ends at 4pm on Sunday)

Block Printing for Textiles @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Friday, March 16 from 1-4pm

Befriend Your Sewing Machine @ my studio in Kerhonkson, NY
Saturday, March 17 from 10am-1pm

Mohonk Knitting Weekend @ Mohonk Mountain House in New Paltz, NY
Thursday through Sunday, March 22-25 (I’m teaching 2 workshops at this retreat: Crochet for Knitters and Embroidery for Knit and Crochet)

April

Clone Your Clothes at Craftwork Somerville in Somerville, MA
Saturday April 7 from 11am-5pm SOLD OUT!!!

Clone Your Clothes at Craftwork Somerville in Somerville, MA
Sunday April 8 from 11am-5pm SOLD OUT!!!

One-Day Skirt @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Friday, April 13 from 11am-5pm

Sewing Studio Weekend @ Drop Forge & Tool in Hudson, NY
Saturday + Sunday, April 21-22: Come avail yourself of my wisdom and guidance in this open format weekend workshop.

Yarn Cupboard Retreat in Syracuse, NY
Friday through Sunday, April 27-29 (I’m teaching 3 workshops at this annual retreat: Pattern Drafting for Knitters, Embroidery for Knit + Crochet, and Crochet Rag Rugs)

May

Design + Sew Your Own Shift Dress @ A Verb for Keeping Warm in Oakland, CA
Saturday, May 5 from 11-5:30pm

Design + Sew Your Own Leggings @ A Verb for Keeping Warm in Oakland, CA
Sunday, May 6 from 11-5:30pm

Design Your Own Boxy Tee @ A Verb for Keeping Warm in Oakland, CA
Saturday, May 12 from 11-5:30pm

Design + Sew Your Own Lounge Pants @ A Verb for Keeping Warm in Oakland, CA
Sunday, May 13 from 10-4:30pm

Befriend Your Sewing Machine @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Friday, May 18 from 1-4pm

New England Fiber Art Summit @ Wing and a Prayer Farm in Shaftsbury, VT
Wednesday through Sunday, May 30-June 3 SOLD OUT!!!

June

Make Your Own Leggings @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Saturday, June 16 from 11am-5pm

Pattern Drafting Workshop: Shift Dress @ Stitch Sew Shop in Alexandria, VA
Friday-Sunday, June 22-24 SOLD OUT!!!

Pattern Drafting Retreat with Cal Patch @ Fancy Tiger Crafts in Denver, CO
Thursday June 28 through Sunday July 1:  In this first-ever sewing retreat at the famed Fancy Tiger, you’ll learn to draft your own custom patterns and sew your own dress. SOLD OUT!!!

July

Block Printing @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Saturday, July 14 from 1-4pm

Slow Fashion Retreat 2018 @ at Ferry Beach in Saco, Maine
Sunday July 22 through Friday July 27:  Back for the 2nd year of celebrating stitching, mending and dyeing, right on the ocean! with Katrina Rodabaugh and Jessica Lewis Stevens, and created by Samantha Lindgren of A Gathering of Stitches.

August

Befriend Your Sewing Machine @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Friday, August 3 from 10am-1pm

Fabric Buckets @ Fiber on Main in Hurleyville, NY
Friday, August 3 from 2-5pm

Befriend Your Sewing Machine @ Drop Forge & Tool in Hudson, NY
Tuesday, August 7 from 11am-2:30pm

Design and Sew Your Own Wardrobe @ Harrisville Designs in Harrisville, NH SOLD OUT!!!
Saturday August 11 through Wednesday August 15: In this 5-day pattern drafting and sewing retreat in a historic mill town, you’ll learn how to draft your own custom patterns and sew your own skirt, t-shirt and dress.

September

October

November

December

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save